Tips for Salesforce Syncing Settings

With our Salesforce integration, our customers have different options depending on what matters most to you and your team.  Below we've listed recommendations for how to configure your settings based upon specific use cases. 

If you want to minimize the amount of data used in Salesforce

For some customers, reducing the amount of data synced can be really important. If this is the case for you, think carefully about what activity is essential to have in Salesforce. Remember Mixmax will still track the activity for you and your team to reference, even if you are not syncing activity like opens and downloads into Salesforce. 

We would recommend checking the box to only sync the first of each type of activity. This becomes really useful if you are tracking opens and clicks to Salesforce as those add up the quickest. Here's what your settings might look like if keeping usage low is important to you.

Also, consider which opportunities you'd like to sync with. If you choose to sync with all opportunities on the account this will create additional activities in each opportunity. This is because one activity can only be associated with one opportunity.

If you want to minimize API calls used by your organization

Mixmax already does as much as possible to limit the amount of API calls utilized.  Beyond that, there are additional aspects of the Salesforce integration to consider, especially if you have five or more people using the Mixmax Salesforce integration. 

We strongly recommend setting a sync user, which will drop the number of API calls Mixmax uses even more significantly. You can learn more about setting up a sync user here

You may also want to consider using the managed package if you have many other services that rely on using bulk API calls. We have more details on how to install the package here

If you want to make sure no activity syncs for your admin or executive group while still enabling syncing for end users

This is a perfect use case for different having different Mixmax roles setup. Workspace admins can set up one role for admins that turns automatic syncing off completely and another role for individual users that leaves it on. Here's what an admin syncing role might look like in terms of the Salesforce settings:

You'll notice that the activities in the second section are still selected. These will only go into effect if the user manually turns on syncing for a specific message. By default, Salesforce syncing will remain off. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us