Pause an Active Sequence

Heading off on a spontaneous vacation and need to pause your sequence until you get back?  We’ve got a way for you to do just that!  You can pause sequences when you go on vacation, a holiday comes up, or your team needs time to re-strategize their approach.   

What does pausing a sequence do?

Pausing a sequence temporarily stops sending on the sequence and keeps your recipients exactly where they are in the sequence cycle.  When you unpause, your recipients will be reactivated in the sequence cycle. 

If the time the recipient was scheduled for in the upcoming stage is still in the future, then the upcoming stage will send then. 

For example, say your next stage is scheduled to send in exactly five days at 5:00pm. You pause the sequence now and leave it paused for three days while you're away from the office.  When you unpause your sequence, the next stage will send on the fifth day at 5:00pm after you hit the unpause button.     

If it time a stage was supposed to send has passed, then the stage will be sent at the same time it was scheduled for originally, but on the next available weekday (respecting the daily send limit).

For example, say your stage was supposed to send on the upcoming Wednesday at 9:00 am. You pause the sequence on the Tuesday before the and are out of the office until Thursday. When you press resume, your upcoming stage will be scheduled to send at 9:00am on Friday. 

How To Pause A Sequence

Sequence level Pausing

Sequence level pausing allows you to pause all of your recipients in a sequence. Mixmax administrators have an additional option to pause all recipients in the sequence, including those added by other workspace members. 

Non-Admin users

  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to pause.
  3. Click Pause my recipients in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Confirm you'd like to pause the sequence by clicking Pause in the confirmation window.

This will pause the sequence for all of your active recipients. Pausing will not impact any recipients added by other members of your team.

Admin Users

In addition to being able to pause their own recipients, Mixmax administrators can pause all recipients added to a sequence.  The Pause all recipients option pauses all recipients that have been added to the sequence by members of your workspace. 

To pause only your own recipients:
  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard. 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to pause.
  3. Hover your mouse over Pause in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Click Pause my recipients in the Pause Menu.
  5. Confirm you'd like to pause the sequence by clicking Pause in the confirmation window.

To pause all recipients in the sequence:
  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard. 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to pause.
  3. Hover your mouse over Pause in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Click Pause all recipients in the Pause Menu.
  5. Confirm you'd like to pause the sequence by clicking Pause in the confirmation window.

Pausing Individual Recipients 

Non-Admin users can choose to pause individual recipients that they activated.  Mixmax Administrators can pause any recipient in the sequence, even those that were added by other workspace members. 

Non-Admin users

  1. Visit the Reports tab of your sequence.
  2. Place a checkmark next to the recipient you would like to pause.
  3. Click the Pause button. 

Admin Users

  1. Visit the Reports tab of the sequence.
  2. By default, sequence reports only show your active recipients. You can view recipients added by other workspace members by changing Show Analytics for to Everyone.
  3. Place a checkmark next to the recipient you would like to pause.
  4. Click the Pause button. 

How to resume a sequence

Sequence level resuming allows you to resume all of your paused recipients in a sequence. Mixmax administrators have an additional option to resume all recipients in the sequence, including those added by other workspace members. 

If the time the recipient was scheduled for next is still in the future, users will be able to send the upcoming stage then. If it has passed, then the sequence will resume sending at the same time it was scheduled for, but on the next available weekday (respecting the daily send limit).

Sequence level resuming

Non-Admin users

  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to Resume.
  3. Click Resume my recipients in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Confirm you'd like to resume the sequence by clicking Resume in the confirmation window.

Admin Users

In addition to being able to resume their own recipients, Mixmax administrators can resume all recipients added to a sequence.  The Resume all recipients option resumes all paused recipients that have been added to the sequence by members of your workspace. 

To resume only your own recipients:
  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard. 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to resume.
  3. Hover your mouse over Resume in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Click Resume my recipients in the Resume Menu.
  5. Confirm you'd like to resume the sequence by clicking Resume in the confirmation window.

To resume all recipients in the sequence:
  1. Visit the Sequences section of your dashboard. 
  2. Hover over the three dots under the sequence you plan to Resume
  3. Hover your mouse over Resume in the drop-down menu that appears
  4. Click Resume all recipients in the Resume Menu.
  5. Confirm you'd like to resume the sequence for all members of the workspace by clicking Resume in the confirmation window.

Resuming Individual Recipients 

Non-Admin users can choose to resume individual recipients that they paused.  Mixmax Administrators can resume any pasused recipient in the sequence, even those that were paused by other workspace members. 

Non-Admin users

  1. Visit the Reports tab of your sequence.
  2. Place a checkmark next to the recipient you would like to resume.
  3. Click the Resume button. 

Admin Users

  1. Visit the Reports tab of the sequence.
  2. By default, sequence reports only show your active recipients. You can view recipients added by other workspace members by changing Show Analytics for to Everyone.
  3. Place a checkmark next to the recipient you would like to resume.
  4. Click the Resume button. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us